Advertise here

Welcome Guest (Register -  Login)  Display List of Forum Members Memberlist Search The Forum Search forum topics Search psychologists Search psychologists Help Help
 Navigation

Username

Password

Auto Login
Add me to the active users list

Forgot password | Register

Latest Forum Posts

We have 5289 registered users.
The newest registered user is Jacquie.

Our users have posted a total of 2794 articles within 1049 topics in 15 forums.
Last post by Jacquie

Student Assistance
 Psychotherapy.co.za - Discussion GroupsStudent Assistance
Subject Topic: Psychoanalysis in South Africa Post ReplyPost New Topic
 Psychoanalysis in South Africa
<< Prev Topic | Next Topic >>
Don_Quixote
Posted: 2010 April 17 at 5:27pm | IP Logged Quote Don_Quixote

Group: Member
I am a student doing my honours in psychology, hoping to do my clinical masters (next year, or one day).

I'm interested in what psychoanalytic/psychodynamic frameworks seem to underlie clinical research/training in South Africa (if any).

I heard via the grapevine from academics at my institution that a bid is being made to gain official recognition from the IPA in South Africa and to try to establish an institute here. Currently, it seems some training institutions offer psychodynamic approaches to therapy - if more details on this could be given, it would be a great help. Also, details on proposed schools would be of great help as well.